DÉ DÉ MOUSE: Mighty Mouse!

Publié: 14 juillet 2017 dans Divers et Variés
Tags:, , , ,

This is the English translation of an interview originally published in French on Journal du Japon.

DÉ DÉ MOUSE (a persona built on the initials of his civil name, Daisuke Endo, and his nickname « Mouse » – not to be confused with deadmau5, then) is an artist representative of the Japanese EDM scene. Though, he’s still not that well known outside of Japan, even if he managed to get a featuring with Anamanguchi from the US. A multi-faceted artist, he is confortable both with electronic musics and more conventional ones like jazz. With dream you up, his 6th album, just released, DÉ DE MOUSE has been invited by La Magnifique Society, as a part of the Japanese program of the festival.

I meet with him the day after his first and very energetic set. Despite being 38, he welcomes me with the shiny smile of a playful teenager. The interview begins in English, and will switch between this language and Japanese during the whole dialogue.

You started music quite late, in 2005. What did you do before being a musician?

I was a NEET! I didn’t do anything very constructive. I had a few part-time jobs from time to time. And I listened carefully to a lot of music, mainly Aphex Twin and UK techno. When I started listening to this music, I had the feeling that it was pure art. Curiously enough, I discovered DJ Krush – who is Japanese – way later. It’s really these Anglo-Saxon musicians who show me the light and gave me the inspiration to do similar things, artistic things.

During your set yesterday, you started stating that, while not being French, your soul was French. What did you mean?

I love French culture: movies, music… I love Daft Punk and movies based on the works of Marcel Pagnol, particularly My Mother’s Castle. I also love Celtic music. I enjoy the French scenery. And I don’t speak French, but I like this language! For all those reasons, I have the feeling that my soul is French.

It’s the second time you came in France. Did the audience evolved compared to last time?

I indeed played in Nîmes in 2009. It was very cool, in the arena. The atmosphere in Reims is different, but I love the energy of the French audience. Yesterday was awesome, powerful. I liked the fact that there was a mix of people who came here specifically to listen to my music, and other who were just here to party, dance and jump everywhere! It was the same atmosphere we have when I perform in Japan.

Contrary to many DJs who take their performances way too seriously and stay behind their laptop, you move a lot, you interact directly with the audience. Where does this energy come from?

If the public dances, smiles, moves, jumps… it sends good vibes! It’s the very reason why I do music: to make people happy. So if the public is happy, I’m happy too, and I want to share more. That’s why I go in front of the stage, I shoot videos for Instagram and Twitter with the audience. I want to share this energy with the world!

Your set was mostly focused on dream you up. How would you describe the music of this album?

On this album, I wanted to create the kind of music that could have been if the Internet as we know it today had existed in the 80’s – author’s note: the album goes from vaporwave to gabber, exploring all the spectrum of electronic music. Like the Internet, it mixes influences from a lot of different places. If the different popular cultures of the 80’s had been able to interact as easily aas we can today, I think it could have resulted in what you can listen on dream you up.

Let’s talk about the scenography of your sets. Where does all those colors and forms come from?

It’s true that during my sets, there are a lot of emojis and twisted pictures. I work with a visual artist, Kitasenju Design, who takes care of the VJing aspects of my shows. Actually, he is a little weird. He likes to use my face a lot! He has a great sense of humor, and I love the visual identity he created. That’s why I trust him with the scenography, he has an automatic green light. He simply listens to my music, and creates pictures and animations following the feeling he gets.

What would you say to French people so they start listening to your music?

Well, it’s not the most incentive thing to say, but let’s state that I mix weird voice samples with energetic and positive dance beats, the whole thing sprinkled with a slight nostalgia. In fact, I’d like to create a sound specific to Tokyo! In any case, I really love France! I want to come back in this country as often as possible! Please, listen to my music!

Follow DÉ DÉ MOUSE on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Soundcloud and Youtube.

Thanks to Sanae Kikuchi from Creativeman who helped translated some parts of the interview from Japanese to English.

Laisser un commentaire

